performed by the ASU Chamber Orchestra

Thoughts for chamber orchestra
Publisher: Gottry Publications (2013)
Composed: 2006
Duration: 7′
Difficulty: Difficult
Instrumentation: reduced strings, solo woodwinds (flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon), three percussionists, and timpani
Request information about programming this piece by contacting the composer directly

A rhythmically driven work, Thoughts alternates between two primary sections, one focused on ostinatos and whole tone based melodic lines, and a contrasting section set with a lighter and “sing-able” major based tune. The energy, variety, and creative orchestration of this composition makes it ideal for a program that just needs a brief overture or one more short, audiencefriendly work.  Thoughts was selected as the winner of the 2008 Arizona State University Orchestral Composition Contest and premiered by the ASU Chamber Orchestra.