Danse Macabre

Danse Macabre arranged for percussion ensemble
Publisher: C. Alan Publications (2008)
Composed: 2006
Duration: 6’30”
Difficulty: Medium
Instrumentation (12 players): bells, chimes, xylophone, vibraphone, two 4.3-octave marimbas, timpani (4), triangle, crash cymbals, bass drum

A direct transcription from the original orchestra score by Camille Saint-Saens, this landmark work is the first piece to incorporate xylophone in the symphony orchestra. This percussion ensemble transcription is scored for vibraphone, xylophone, marimba (four players on two instruments), bells, chimes, timpani, bass drum, crash cymbals, and triangle.

Josh Gottry has done an excellent job scoring the orchestra version on percussion instruments to create an enjoyable and historic work. – Julia Gaines
Printed by permission of the Percussive Arts Society, inc.